Selected News Item

Date: 20/03/2019
By: Pat Mulvihill


News ...


Subway SFAI U/14 South West Area Final
Kildimo Utd (3) 3 (Ciaran McMahon 3)
Killarney Cel (0) 0

Last Saturday was a historic day for Kildimo Utd as their U14s won the SFAI U/14 South West Area Final with a brilliant and deserved three nil win over a strong Killarney Celtic side. It was also the second season in a row that a Limerick Desmond side had won an SFAI Regions Final after Newcastle West Town 15s beat Charleville 4-1 in 2018.

The game was originally fixed for Rathkeale but was transferred to the astro pitch in UL following the heavy rain from the previous few days which led to a blanket cancellation of all local games on Saturday. Kildimo Utd played some fantastic football in the opening half and raced in to a two goal lead with both goals coming courtesy of Ciaran McMahon. The Desmond side continued to dominate that first half and limited Killarney Celtic to very few chances. Ten minutes from half time Kildimo stretched their lead with a scintillating individual effort from Ciaran McMahon when he left several players in his wake and duly completed his hat trick slotting the ball past the advancing keeper.

In the second half Killarney tried hard to get back in the game but resolute defending by the Kildimo defence and midfield restricted the Kerry side to very few chances. There was a real determination from Kildimo in this half and at the other end did create a few chances but they didn’t add to their tally. Kildimo were thoroughly deserving winners and well done to them on becoming the first club from the league to win the U14 South West Regional Final. Well done to the players and management who deserve tremendous praise and credit.

The league would like to thank the officials Eugene Noonan, Pat O’ Donnell and Pat King who done a fine job on Saturday.

After the game Tom Ambrose, on behalf of the SFAI presented the cup to Kildimo Utd captain Sean Hartigan.
Kildimo Utd: James Ranahan, Cian O‘Sullivan, Tiernan Meaney, Ben Higgins, Robert O’Farrell, Sean Hartigan (capt), Ethan Browne, Sean O’Brien, Ciaran McMahon, Bobby Smith, Calum Coughlan. Subs Patrick Kenny, Joey McCarthy, Conor McMahon, Alexander Kaiser, Jonathan McLoughlin, Daniel Hickey, Andrew O’Farrell

Referee Eugene Noonan. Referee Assistants Pat O’Donnell, Pat King

News List